Yesterday I met with Dr. Rosinski again to go over my blood test results and really start to dig in to what I need to do to fix this besides just being on the elimination diet.  I feel like there is so much to remember and I actually was awake super early this morning because I couldn’t fall back asleep due to stress.  All I could think about was all of these new routines I need to add into my day.  It is a bit daunting I have to say, but I do have a lot of faith in Dr. Rosinski and I am willing to do what I need to do in order to get better.  I am tired of being hivey all day every day and having it interfere with my life.

I am going to go over what I am taking in this post but it is not at all to suggest that anyone out there should start taking the same thing.  My supplement plan is highly personalized just for me and was based on my blood work in order to fill in deficiencies.  Apparently my stomach is not acidic enough, so it is having a hard time breaking down food.  I have leaky gut, which I had already suspected but my blood tests finally confirmed.  I also am having some issues with my liver, spleen and kidneys.  Dr. Rosinski suspects that my autoimmune disease is attacking more than just my thyroid.  One of my biggest nutrient deficiencies is Vitamin D, but I am also really low in magnesium.  I got so much information about where my problem areas are from Dr. Rosinski and the blood testing.  I can tell he really knows what he is talking about and it makes me excited to be working with him.

I didn’t bother doing anything with the supplements last night because I wanted to start with a fresh day, so I started today.  Like I said I woke up really early today (for me anyway) and got out of bed at around 6:20 a.m.  The first thing I did was to take 12 sprays of colloidal silver, swish it and swallow, then wait 2 minutes (at least) before eating or drinking anything.  This morning I was super proud of myself because I did 20 minutes of yoga, which I keep meaning to do in the mornings but never seem to do.  Then I drank 20 ounces of water with lemon juice.  After the water I went upstairs and dry brushed and showered.  I have been wanting to try oil pulling for a little bit now so last night I made peppermint coconut oil tabs, but I made the mistake of putting them in the fridge.  This morning when I took one out the texture was just way too much for me to handle.  I think that if it was at room temperature it would soften up a lot faster in my mouth, so I am going to try that tomorrow.  Today I just ended up spitting it out before it got soft because I knew it would take a while due to being in the fridge.  My mistake, but all I can do is learn from it.  After the oil pulling fail it was about time to start my new eating ritual, which is somewhat already making me hate eating.

5 minutes before breakfast I drank 1 tablespoon of apple cider vinegar mixed with two ounces of water.  It is supposed to make my stomach more acidic to help with the digestive process.  Yeah, not the most pleasant experience but really the next step is worse – gargling the alphabet.  Really the alphabet part is just there as a timer to make sure you gargle for long enough.  I am actually supposed to do it five times a day – first thing in the morning, before each of my three meals, and last thing before I go to bed.  I figured today I would just start with before each of the meals and work my way up to 5 times in a couple of days.  So after the ACV “shot” I started to gargle water and probably got to about “C” before most of the water was gone because I had accidentally swallowed it.  Apparently I am not great at gargling.  I got a little bit more water and tried again, but rather than try to say out the alphabet I just counted to myself up to 26, which is really the same thing and kept me from swallowing so much water.  I am going to have to work on my gargling skills for sure but I will be getting plenty of practice each day that’s for sure!  Not the most fun thing ever but gargling with water stimulates the vagus nerve which helps bring blood flow to the gut.  This aids in digestion, which is one of my biggest issues right now.

Anyway, after I gargle I am free to eat, but I need to remember the three Cs of eating and I have a good bit of pills to take with almost every meal.

  • Choose your food intentionally (stick to the elimination diet)
  • Chew thoroughly (aim to turn your food into liquid before swallowing)
  • Chill and relax, both during the meal and immediately after (no watching tv or mindless eating)

Before I get into breakfast though can I just mention I had an awesome food prep session last night, so I was fully prepared with meals and even some cute little veggie snack mason jars.

For my protein I had baked chicken breast (each one is a 4 ounce portion) and organic chicken meatballs (6 balls each).  For veggies I had steamed sweet potatoes and broccoli, zucchini and yellow squash “noodles” (made with my spiralizer), and a saute of an organic kale blend (no spinach because it is high in histamine – waaaaah) with sweet potato and rutabaga cuts and fresh minced garlic.  As you can see, each container got protein and an assortment of veggies.  I also prepped the mason jar snack jars I mentioned above with fresh cut celery, baby carrots, and cucumber.  Finally, I portioned out my homemade sauerkraut (the first batch) and threw some store bought organic sauerkraut on top of each.  The homemade sauerkraut came out okay but it was really crisp still I felt, and I like my sauerkraut kinda soggy so I hope the soggy store bought sauerkraut will seep into the homemade sauerkraut and soften it up a bit.  Not only did I prep all of this awesome food but I also picked up some ingredients I have been needing for AIP recipes, like white sweet potatoes to make dairy free AIP cheese sauce and plantains to make plantain biscuits.  I’ll be sure to post pictures of how those turn out when I get around to making them.

Anyway, back to breakfast.  This morning I wanted something flavorful so rather than one of my chicken breast meals I had prepped I opted for organic chicken meatballs with the sauteed kale mix and steamed broccoli and sweet potato and rutabaga cuts.  I also had to take my morning pills – Homocysteine Supreme (B Vitamins), HistaEze (deals with the overload of histamine in my body), and Hepatatone Plus (supports the liver function).  Each of those three are two pills a piece for a total of 6 pills with breakfast, and they aren’t super small.  Another important thing about my meals is that I can’t have more than 6 ounces of water with the meal.  I guess it dilutes the acid in my stomach and makes it harder to digest things.  The only thing that sucks about that is I need to use the water to take my pills, so I am limited in the amount of water I have to swallow the pills with.

Also chewing your food until it is almost liquid isn’t hard necessarily but it is just… time consuming.  And annoying.  It is something I have noticed a bit about myself recently because I had been reading a lot online about how important chewing your food is to aid in digestion.  I don’t really chew my food well at all.  I don’t know if it is because of my TMJ disorder (I have a a bad chronic jaw problem where I have to wear a mouthpiece to sleep and I used to have to wear a mouthpiece 24/7) or what but I just don’t feel like spending that long to chew my food I guess.  Anyway, today I really focused on it during breakfast because I know it is important but it took so long.  Not to mention I felt pretty full and the pills made me feel a little queasy at first, so I ended up eating only half of the portion I had prepped and putting the rest back in the fridge.  Hopefully I can eat more at lunch.

Speaking of lunch, with lunch I will do the same apple cider vinegar drink 5 minutes beforehand and gargle, but my pills are slightly different.  I only take the B Vitamins once per day so for lunch I take the HistaEze, Hepatatone Plus and Zinc.  2 pills of the first two and one zinc pill for a total of 5 pills with lunch.  I took a Zinc Assay taste test in the office with Dr. Rosinski while I was there to determine whether or not I needed to supplement zinc.  You taste a teaspoon full of Zinc Assay (which is a liquid) and will find that you experience varying tastes based on your body’s current needs. If you are deficient in zinc, the liquid will taste like water, while if you have adequate levels it will taste bitter.  Mine tasted like water at first but the more I swished it around the worse it tasted.

zinc assay test
According to this chart, I am “quite deficient” in zinc, which is why Dr. Rosinski added that to my supplement list.

By dinner time I have taken most of my pills, so dinner is the easiest meal as far as the pills go.  I still need to do my apple cider vinegar drink and gargle, but the only pill I need to take with dinner is 1/2 a probiotic.  After the first week taking 1/2 a pill I will increase it to a full pill and eventually work my way up to 2 pills.

Last but not least, before bed I need to take 2 magnesium pills and do the 12 sprays of colloidal silver again.  It is quite a routine, I can tell you that much.  I was more nervous thinking about it last night and this morning when I couldn’t sleep than I am feeling today.  Now that I have actually started doing these things it’s not as bad as it seems, although I am sure I am going to run into some issues this weekend.  It is going to be really hard for me to do my eating routine and make sure I am “chill” while eating if I am working a double at Longhorn, and I have doubles scheduled both Saturday and Sunday.  All I can do is plan ahead and do my best at sticking to what Dr. Rosinski said.  I have another appointment with Dr. Rosinski in two weeks to go over how I am progressing.  Here’s to hoping I progress quickly!

Leave a Reply

