So it seems like it has been forever since I have posted on here.  I have been having a hard time dealing with things emotionally and really just haven’t had much of an update to give, but I guess it is time I get back to writing.

This week I went in to Quest Diagnostics and got what seemed like a ridiculous amount of blood taken for testing for my functional medicine doctor.  I also have started restricting my diet again.  Dr. Rosinski, my functional medicine doctor, wants me to limit my foods to low histamine foods only while also trying to follow an autoimmune paleo diet (AIP).  Essentially, this makes the super strict AIP diet even more strict by eliminating things like bananas and spinach (just two examples that I was particularly disappointed about), which are both high in histamines.  The idea is to limit the amount of histamine I am adding in to my body, since histamine is what causes the hives.  This is also why I have basically been living off of anti-histamines to get by.  I am happy to report that I haven’t taken a steroid in quite some time now though.  I think a couple of weeks.

I’m glad that I have gotten started with Dr. Rosinski and I do think that this is the path that will help me get back to health, but it doesn’t make it suck any less.  I am pretty comfortable with my life and changing your diet and lifestyle aren’t really easy things to do, nor are they much fun.  Just the idea of certain foods being off limits makes me want them even more and it is really frustrating.  It takes a lot of self control to make these kinds of drastic changes and trust me, I am using all of the self control I have.  I have to do this and I have to do it right.  Especially because I feel like I have been extra itchy and hivey lately and I am just so sick and tired of it.  I even had to leave jiu jitsu practice last night early because I was getting a flare up.  I just want my life back and want to not have to deal with the hives anymore.

With that said, I do have a fun weekend to look forward to, so I am trying to focus on that.  I have off all day tomorrow and I am having a couple of people over to watch the UFC ppv.  I should be meeting with Dr. Rosinski again next week I imagine to go over the results of my blood testing, so hopefully I will have more information soon.

Leave a Reply

