The hardest thing for me about meal planning and prepping is that I never just have hours to spend in the kitchen, so it is hard for me to get everything that I want to have cooked done in one day.  With that said, I thought you might want an update on some of the other items that were on my list.

I took my first stab at making homemade coconut milk, which was really not fun to make but overall an easy concept.  You essentially just put shredded coconut and boiling water into a blender and blend for a good bit, then strain the coconut milk through cheesecloth.  It is more time consuming than anything and my blender is brand new, so I am a bit wary of putting it through prolonged use.  I made sure to take breaks from blending so that I didn’t overheat the motor or anything.  I used the nut milk bag I had purchased instead of cheesecloth to strain the coconut milk and it worked pretty well.  My biggest disappointment was that even though I used 2 cups of boiling water, somehow it didn’t produce 2 cups of coconut milk.  Maybe I need to squeeze it out more next time, but I thought I had done a good job with that so I am not really sure what happened there.

20160210_181958
Homemade coconut milk after being in the fridge a couple of days.  You can just barely see the thin layer of cream that separated on top.

I also finally made the AIP cherry bbq sauce that I needed for the bbq chicken meatballs.  All of that cherry pitting by hand really did pay off with this recipe, but I’m still going to get a cherry pitter before I try doing this again.

20160208_211256
AIP BBQ sauce while cooking
20160208_214440
Finished AIP BBQ sauce

I put my finished sauce into a mason jar to save for the chicken meatballs, but again I was a bit disappointed that it didn’t produce as much as it said it would.  The recipe said that I would get 3 cups out of this, which I am assuming correlates with the 3 cups of cherries I used in the recipe.  Somehow I ended up with about half of that.  I think it had something to do with the cherries being frozen when I measured them out.  Even though it appeared to be 3 cups of cherries, when you blend them like I did at the end into a smooth substance it is going to take up less space (duh).  Next time I think I should make sure the cherries aren’t frozen and kinda squish them down a bit to measure them out, so that I make sure I have enough cherries to produce the proper quantity of sauce.  The sauce itself tastes great though.

I used 1/4 cup of the AIP BBQ sauce to make the AIP chicken meatballs.  The recipe says to form into 10 balls, but I seem to never be good at that so I ended up with 8.  I guess I’m a big ball kinda girl (hehe).

20160210_181620
AIP BBQ Chicken Meatballs before baking

The recipe says to cook the meatballs in a skillet but also gave the option of baking them in the oven, which is obviously what I opted to go for.  As much as I love the kitchen in my new house, less effort cooking is always my preferred method.

20160210_183836
AIP BBQ Chicken Meatballs with Broccoli (aka my dinner tonight)

The bbq chicken meatballs came out awesome and I have plenty of leftovers as well, which is always a good thing.  I can’t believe it took me sooooo long to finally crack down and make them.  The sauce itself was harder to make than the meatballs.  Definitely going to try this recipe again sometime soon.

One epic meal planning fail that I feel I should share with you was the AIP Cream of Broccoli soup, which I had been really excited about making.  I love broccoli soup (broccoli cheddar asiago from Longhorn is my absolute fav) and I thought it would be a nice lunch type meal.  I had already gotten all of the ingredients during my grocery haul and made the coconut milk so that I would have coconut cream for the recipe when I got around to actually reading the recipe itself to see how I should proceed.  Only then did I notice that it required an immersion blender, which is not something that I have.  Ooops.

Meal Planning Tip – Read the whole recipe to make sure that you will have all of the kitchen tools and equipment you need to make it, not just the ingredients (aka learn from my mistakes!).

I so badly wanted to complete the recipe and avoid letting the ingredients go to waste that I actually went on Amazon.com and ordered myself an immersion blender, which showed up this past Saturday.  Unfortunately, when I opened the Amazon box I saw that the box the blender was in was marked as refurbished, which is not how it was advertised on the website.  Super pissed about that situation and when I tried to leave a review stating that it was refurbished and false advertising they denied my review.  What the hell Amazon?  Regardless, I wasn’t about the keep a refurbished product when I had paid for a new one and I was pretty bitter about the situation, so I ended up returning the immersion blender and essentially taking that as a sign to give up on the broccoli soup recipe.  Am I disappointed in myself for not planning better and making sure I had everything I need?  Of course.  With that said, I am trying really hard not to beat myself up about it and let it stress me out.  Especially as a Hashimoto’s patient, more stress is not going to help me and this is one of those things I need to let roll off my back.  Things happen and sometimes your plans just don’t work out like you thought they would, but I am not going to let it get me down too much.

My liver detox sauerkraut was starting to overflow into the airlock the other day, so I stuck a plate under it when I noticed that happening.  Good thing I did too, because a day later there was red beet juice brine all over the plate.  Score one for saving my counter tops.  The first batch of sauerkraut should be ready really soon too.  This coming Monday will be 4 weeks since I started it.

20160210_181641
Sauerkraut progress


As far as my meds go, I am back off of steroids again.  The last time I took prednisone was Saturday, January 30th, so I am headed towards the 2 week mark of being steroid free (cue the cheers).  I am still taking zantac and allegra to combat my flare ups about once or twice per day, depending on how bad the flare ups are and how often they occur.  They are super hard to predict but the one thing that seems pretty consistent is I am always hivey after waking up from sleeping.  I am pretty sure I have super stressful and upsetting dreams because the only ones I ever remember are terrible and essentially nightmares, so that might have something to do with it.  I’m really anxious for this coming Monday when I find out the results of my allergy test as well.

Leave a Reply

