Last year one of my resolutions was to read 5 books that year cover to cover.  I am pretty sure I ended up reading two – Ronda Rousey’s autobiography “My Fight, Your Fight” and Aziz Ansari’s “Modern Romance” (and I highly recommend both by the way).  Obviously that was an epic fail, so I made the same resolution again this year and modified my budget so that I actually have a category for books.  I used my January book budget to buy two books – Malcolm Gladwell’s “David and Goliath: Underdogs, Misfits and the Art of Battling Giants” and Stacey Robbins’ “You’re Not Crazy and You’re Not Alone: Losing the Victim, Finding Your Sense of Humor, and Learning to Love Yourself Through Hashimoto’s.”

I started reading You’re Not Crazy and You’re Not Alone first because the title was really calling to me and I felt like this was going to be a good book for me when it comes to the mental side of this disease.  Man was I right about that.  The introduction (of all things, right?) really spoke to me and by the second or third page I was over-relating so much to what she was saying that I wanted to cry (I didn’t though – for the record).  I’m not alone.  And I’m not a total freak.  Or if I am, there are others like me.  Other people have gone through this and come out the other side.  There are people out there who have been through and are going through similar issues.  The frustration with useless doctors is definitely a theme throughout the book and we all know I have been experiencing my fair share of that.

You’re Not Crazy and You’re Not Alone is the perfect book for any woman suffering from Hashimoto’s.  I would say that it is more specifically geared towards women because it is a female author, and she speaks largely about her personal experiences.  While I did not have all of the same experiences she did, I found myself relating more often than not and the book has a lot of humor written into it, which is something I desperately need at the moment.  It really is starting to help me change my mindset about my condition already.  I have never been a positive or optimistic person, so staying positive through this ordeal is quite a struggle for me and this book is really helping.  I’m also really looking forward to reading Malcolm Gladwell’s book next.

Both of the books I chose this month were specific to mental struggles and trying to view disadvantages as advantages.  In fact, there was actually a really good article I read about that exact topic recently on Mickey Trescott’s website called “The Advantages of Disadvantages” written by Angie Alt, another prominent figure in the AIP community.  The article mentions Malcolm Gladwell’s book, which is actually why I picked it up.  There is one thing Angie mentions in her article that I have always somewhat known, which is that easy doesn’t make for powerful.  Ronda is an idol of mine because of her mental strength and she actually has said something similar in different words –

Easy lives make boring people – Ronda Rousey

Ronda talks a lot in her autobiography about how every traumatic event in her life has made her a stronger person.  I like to believe that I am an extremely strong person because of the things I have been through in my life, and this experience is only going to make me even stronger.  I love how Ronda turns a negative event into a positive, and that mindset can really help you get through traumatic times in your life.


So far I have been able to continue taking only one 10mg prednisone per day (which I am super proud of) and I am still taking zantac and allegra approximately every 12 hours.  My flare up this morning was really bad but that was mostly because I slept through it to a certain extent so by the time I woke up I was pretty covered in hives.  They calmed down quickly once I took my meds though.

Leave a Reply

