New Year’s Eve ended up being a good time but my AIP “re-start” ended up never really happening.  I am not a huge drinker by any means but being unable to drink on New Year’s Eve was pretty shitty.  I went to an old high school friend’s party and he always goes all out with the food selection.  There was so much food there that was absolutely NOT AIP approved, but I rationalized that I deserved it since it was a holiday and I couldn’t drink.  I ate a hell of a lot that night.

And somehow the holiday never really seemed to end for me.  On New Year’s Day I went out to eat with my family, so I continued to eat however I pleased.  The same went for the weekend (which involved more dinners out) and really I haven’t managed to get back on the wagon and stay there.  With that said, my mindset about the diet has changed a bit too, which is most of the reason why I haven’t been trying to stay strict to AIP.

I talked to my parents over the holiday and we decided that waiting until March 1st to see if the traditional medicine doctors can fix me is probably giving them too much time (my argument with Dr. Sharma about my steroid prescription had a lot to do with this).  All of my tests and appointments will be wrapped up by the end of January, so the new deadline is February 1st.  After February 1st, if the traditional medicine doctors don’t have any real plan or results, I am going to go with Dr. Rosinski and follow his functional medicine plan.  Since I am trying to see right now if the traditional medicine doctors can fix me just with pills, trying to follow AIP on my own would essentially skew the results of what I consider to be a test period right now.  After all, if I were to do both there is no way to know for sure which method is working – the pills or the diet.  For that reason, and because I am being blood tested for celiac disease soon and I need to have gluten in my system, I have decided that I really don’t need to re-start strict AIP on my own yet.  I am going to wait and if I end up going with Dr. Rosinski then I will do whatever he tells me to do as far as diet restrictions and AIP go.

Even though I am not trying to follow strict AIP right now, I still tried to do my most recent grocery shopping haul with AIP in mind and I got ingredients to try out a couple more Mickey Trescott recipes from The Autoimmune Paleo Cookbook.  I have to say, Mickey is an absolute genius.

cucumbermintsalad
Cucumber Mint Salad from Mickey Trescott’s The Autoimmune Paleo Cookbook

The cucumber mint salad turned out absolutely delicious and it was super simple to make with very limited ingredients needed.  I think it will be a new staple side dish in my diet.  It is just two cucumbers chopped, half a small red onion chopped and fresh chopped mint.  Then you take 3 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil and 2 tablespoons apple cider vinegar and whisk them together in a small bowl, then toss with the rest of the ingredients and serve.  I also made Mickey’s Three Herb Beef Patties, which is basically just grass fed ground beef mixed with fresh chopped rosemary, thyme and sage then grilled in a skillet with coconut oil.

I tried a recipe from Heartbeet Kitchen for Coconut Butter Stuffed Dates.  Those turned out surprisingly good as well.  It is a nice sweet treat and has  a texture similar to caramel.

coconutstuffeddate
Coconut Butter (aka Coconut Manna) Stuffed Dates

 

As far as my health goes, I have surprisingly been seeing some progress considering how poorly I have been eating.  Maybe the pills are working and I am getting better, although I don’t want to get my hopes up too much.  Friday night somehow I brought all of my pills with me except for my prednisone, so when I got my flare up at work I only had zantac and allegra to take.  I took those and the flare up seemed to calm down (thank goodness because I was scheduled to close that night and I was stuck there pretty late).  The next morning I took all three pills when I got my flare up, but then that evening since I had done so well the night before I wanted to see if I could go without my prednisone again.  Sure enough, zantac and allegra were enough to calm my flare down.  Yesterday was officially the third day in a row that I only had to take one prednisone pill.  It feels really good being able to wean down to one pill per day, especially with all of the pressure my family doctor is putting on me to be off steroids.  I hope that it is a sign that I am on my way to being normal again and getting off the pills entirely.

Leave a Reply

